Four hours in Ehrenfeld

Another Monday, another good weather forecast, another camera trip. I’d already been to Ehrenfeld a couple of times and knew the area OK, but something inside was nagging me to go back, this time with the Ricoh. I like Ehrenfeld. Its an old industrial area turned hipster / multiculti / rough around the edges part of town. Great if you like things of the ‘alternative’ nature, street art, and sometimes crazy people. The walk from my part of town takes me through Mediapark and over an old rail bridge.

R0010656_post R0010658_post R0010665_post R0010666_post

No map needed, head for the TV tower. As with central Köln, the ratio of kioks to people is high. However, there are definitely more cool cafes here. I wish there were more like Frau Meffert in my neighbourhood. You know a cafe is going to be good when it’s spinning tunes from a record deck. Do check it out if you’re in the ‘hood.

R0010667_post R0010668_post R0010675_post

Sometimes certain shop fronts or buildings catch my eye, for one reason or another. Sometimes physical content, sometimes texture or light patterns. When someone walks by as I’m framing a shot I don’t wait for them to leave the frame. They were part of that moment on that street that will never happen again, ever. These were the photos that were waiting for me and only me, on this day. That’s whats so unique and appealing about street photography. To catch a fleeting moment before its gone forever.

R0010670_post R0010681_post R0010710_post R0010684_post R0010716_post

Sometimes people aren’t needed to add to a shot, the urban landscape itself is appealing enough. These photos can be found at every turn, you just have to look a little harder, from a different viewpoint. Today started off bad, but after a couple of hours I found my rhythm.

R0010691_post R0010698_post R0010705_post R0010712_post R0010713_post

So I know I just said that you don’t always need people in your photos to add to a scene, but I can’t help but love what this guy on his phone brings to the shot as he walks past what would be one of Europe’s biggest mosques, if they could only get it finished.

R0010725_post

2 thoughts on “Four hours in Ehrenfeld

Leave a Reply

